History Timeline

Funded Centers or Unique Programs

1967    A federally funded Alcoholism Research Center is established in the Department. Dr. Samuel Guze is the principal investigator. This center provided the foundation for the Department’s continued long-term success in alcoholism research.

1972    A federally funded Drug Abuse Research Center is established. Dr. Theodore Cicero is the principal investigator.

1978    A center titled "Models of Diagnosis, Prognosis, and Family Resemblance in Psychiatry" is funded. Dr. C. Robert Cloninger is the principal investigator. In 1986, this grant was renamed the "Epidemiological Genetics and Family Study."

1989    The Collaborative Study on the Genetics of Alcoholism (COGA) is established.  Dr. Theodore Reich was a founding member.

1989    The Master in Psychiatric Epidemiology Program is established and headed by Dr. Lee Robins.

1999    The Midwest Alcoholism Research Center (MARC) is funded. The Department took a lead role in organizing this collaborative project. Dr. Andrew Heath is the first head of the Center. The Center is responsible for the initiation of the annual Samuel B. Guze Symposium in 2001.

2001    The Silvio Conte Center for Neuroscience of Mental Disorders is established in the Department.  Dr. John Csernansky is the first head of this center. The Conte Center is dedicated to the study of schizophrenia and related disorders.

2002    The Sansone Family Center for Well-Being is established. Dr. Cloninger is the first head of this center.

2013    The Taylor Family Institute for Innovative Psychiatric Research is established with major gifts from Andrew and Barbara Taylor and the Crawford Taylor Foundation. Dr. Charles F. Zorumski is the first director of this institute.